Cheese Mania! – Jones the grocer, Dempsey Hills, Singapore –

DSCF3397

Do you know Dempsey Hills in Singapore?
Dempsey Hills were formerly know as the British Army barracks, it has now been converted into nice restaurants, bars and shops. It is not too far from the city centre (around 10 minutes ride by taxi). There is a shuttle bus service to Dempsey Hills from/to the city centre but I took a cab (and it was not very difficult to find the one back to the centre). It was quite pleasant to walk in the compound full of greenery but it could be a bit hot… I found it manageable.
シンガポールにあるデンプシーヒルをご存じでしょうか?デンプシーヒルは、英国軍のバラックだったものが改装されてできた素敵なレストラン、バーやお店が集まっているエリアのことで、シンガポールでも話題のスポットです。市内中心部からもそんなに離れていません(タクシーでだいたい10分程度です)。市内中心部からデンプシーヒルへのシャトルバスサービスもあるようですが、私はタクシーを使いました(帰りのタクシーを見つけるのもそんなに大変ではありませんでした)。緑にあふれたコンパウンドの中を歩くのは気持ちがよかったですが、少し暑かったです、、、なんとかなりましたが。。

DSCF3400

My best pick was the grocery cum cafe/restaurant named “Jones the Grocer”.
私の一番のお気に入りのお店は、食料品のお店とカフェ・レストランが併設されたJonesというお店です。

DSCF3398

I had some salad (S$15) with salmon (add S$15).
サーモンがトッピングされたサラダを食べました。

DSCF3399

They sell wide variety of groceries including tea, coffee, pastas, ham, olives, chocolates, nuts, salts,,, and CHEESES!!
I am a cheese maniac and my favourite is the Montgomery Cheddar. Unfortunately, I cannot find it in Jakarta so I was hoping to find some in Singapore,,,, and then, yes! I found it!! There was a separate “cheese room” in the shop with a good selection of cheeses from all over the world. I was extremely happy when I found my Montgomery Cheddar on the shelf!! (it was a bit pricey…) Anyway, I purchased three varieties: Montgomery Cheddar, Quickes Goat and Mimolette.
お店では、紅茶、コーヒー、パスタ、ハム、オリーブ、チョコレート、ナッツ類、お塩、、、それからチーズ!など色んな種類の食料品が売られています。私はチーズが大好きなのですが、その中でもモンゴメリーチェダーというのが大好物です。悲しいことに、ジャカルタでは手に入らないので、シンガポールで見つけられないかな、、と少し期待していたのですが、、、ありました!お店の中には、チーズ用の小さなコーナーがあり、世界中から集められたチーズが所狭しと陳列されていました。モンゴメリーチェダーを見つけた時は本当にうれしかったです(高かったですが。。。)!最終的に、モンゴメリーチェダー、クイックズというヤギのハードタイプのチーズ、それからミモレットを買いました。

DSCF3405

I tasted all of them and they all were fantastic!! I wish there was a shop like the Jones here in Jakarta…
全部食べてみましたが、どれも本当においしかったです!こんなお店がジャカルタにもあればよいのですが。。。

DSCF3407

DSCF3408

DSCF3410

One thought on “Cheese Mania! – Jones the grocer, Dempsey Hills, Singapore –

  1. 由紀子 says:

    ブログを楽しく見てるよ。ロメシュもみんもすごいフットワークで驚いとるわ。いろんな国に行って、いろんな経験をしているのが、本当にうらやましいけど、自分にはそんな力はないから、やっぱりみんはすごいと思うわ。
    将来くるみとこのみをいろんなとこに連れて行ってやってね。よろしくお願いします。
    くるみとこのみは日々成長中。踊ったり歌ったり、泣いたり笑ったり大忙しやけど、楽しく過ごしとるよ。父さんと母さんも、二人に会うのを楽しみにしてるし。また、帰国することがあったら、連絡ちょうだいね。  由紀子

Leave a Reply

